Private Funerals Now Streamed Online – NYTimes.com

Private Funerals Now Streamed Online – NYTimes.com.

In the continuing saga of cyberspace and death, this article from the NY Times speaks about the increase in funerals being broadcast online for people who can’t make it to the actual funeral.  This struck a personal chord with me because about 4 years ago, when my grandmother’s sister died, I was asked to go to the funeral and broadcast the funeral over speakerphone.  At the time, I felt both a sense of strength in being to provide this for my grandmother, but also a sense of strangeness, for how would the other funeral attendees see this.  I can’t imagine a funeral over cyberspace.  Yet, I think this is a valuable use of our interconnectedness because no longer is someone who is physically unable to attend a funeral preventing from getting some form of closure.

Leave a Reply

